Rendezvous at Port-la-Joye 300 years later

Sunday August 9

Activities & Programming > Rendezvous at Port-la-Joye 300 years later

Since the number of people per guided tour is limited, it is important to register in advance by calling 902-432-2880.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

To mark the 300th anniversary of the founding of Port-la-Joye and the arrival of the first French and Acadians on Prince Edward Island, the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee invites you to a rendezvous at the Skmaqn - Port-la-Joye - Fort Amherst National Historic Site on Sunday, August 9.

Participants will be welcomed to the historic site by none other than Michel Haché dit Gallant and his wife Anne Cormier, who were among the very first inhabitants of Port-la-Joye. A video on the history of the Haché-Gallant family will be shown a few times during the day in the Visitor Centre.

To discover the history of Port-la-Joye and its inhabitants, historian Georges Arsenault will invite you to follow him on a guided tour. It will take place in French at 10:30 am and in English at 1:30 pm. Since the number of people per guided tour is limited, it is important to register in advance by calling 902-432-2880.

There will be games for children, a quiz for individuals and families, and the opportunity to walk the many trails of the national historic site. Bring your kite!

Organizers invite participants to bring their own picnic lunch to be enjoyed at noon to the sound of music by a few Acadian musicians.

The activity is free, but donations will be greatly appreciated.

Participants will have to respect the security measures in place as prescribed by the Renew PEI Together plan.

This 300th anniversary event is organized by the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee of the Acadian Museum Association of P.E.I. in collaboration with Parks Canada and with a financial contribution from the P.E.I. Community Cultural Partnership Program.

In the case of rain, the event will be rescheduled for Sunday, August 16. An announcement will be made here and on the Acadian Museum of PEI website.

Social Media feed will go here.

We'll need an API token from each platform we want to use.

Rendez-vous à Port-la-Joye 300 ans plus tard

dimanche 9 août

Activités et programmation > Rendez-vous à Port-la-Joye 300 ans plus tard

Le nombre de personne par visite guidée étant limitée, il est important de s’inscrire à l’avance en composant le numéro 902-432-2880.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

À l’occasion du 300e anniversaire de la fondation de Port-la-Joye et de l’arrivée des premiers Français et Acadiens à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le Comité historique Sœur-Antoinette-DesRoches vous invite à un rendez-vous au lieu historique national Skmaqn – Port-la-Joye – Fort Amherst, le dimanche 9 août.

Les participants seront accueillis sur le site historique par nuls autres que Michel Haché dit Gallant et son épouse Anne Cormier qui comptaient parmi les tout premiers habitants de Port-la-Joye. D’ailleurs, une vidéo sur l’histoire de la famille Haché-Gallant sera présentée à quelques reprises pendant la journée dans le centre d’accueil.

Afin de découvrir l’histoire de Port-la-Joye et de ses habitants, l’historien Georges Arsenault vous invitera à le suivre dans une visite guidée. Elle se déroulera en français à 10 h 30 et en anglais à 13 h 30. Le nombre de personne par visite guidée étant limitée, il est important de s’inscrire à l’avance en composant le numéro 902-432-2880.

Il y aura des jeux pour les enfants, un jeu questionnaire à faire individuellement ou en famille, et on pourra se balader sur les nombreux sentiers du site historique national. Apportez votre cerf-volant!

Les organisateurs invitent les participants à apporter leur pique-nique qu’ils pourront déguster sur l’heure du midi au son de la musique de quelques artistes acadiens.

L’activité est gratuite, mais les dons seront grandement appréciés.

Les participants devront respecter les mesures de sécurité en place dictées par le plan Renouveler l’Î.-P.-É. ensemble.

Ce rendez-vous du 300e est organisé par le Comité historique Sœur-Antoinette-DesRoches de l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É. en collaboration avec Parcs Canada et une contribution financière du Programme de partenariat communautaire culturel de l’Î.-P.-É.

En cas de pluie, le rendez-vous sera reporté au dimanche 16 août. Une annonce sera faite ici et sur le site web du Musée acadien de l’Île.

Social Media feed will go here.

We'll need an API token from each platform we want to use.