AMBASSADORS

Her Honour, the Honourable Antoinette Perry, Lieutenant Governor of Prince Edward Island

Message from the official ceremonial ambassador of the Acadie 300 celebrations in PEI

As ceremonial ambassador of the 300th anniversary of the settlement of the French and Acadians in Prince Edward Island, I would like to invite all Islanders to celebrate this milestone event in our province’s history. A great many Prince Edward Islanders, myself included, have descended from these hardy pioneers.

Since the 1999 Bicentennial Celebrations in Tignish, my hometown, I have taken part in numerous festivals and anniversaries throughout the Acadian community. At all these events, I have celebrated with pride our rich Acadian and French heritage, our vibrant language and our culture shaped by dynamic artists and storytellers.

This tricentennial also gives us a chance to learn more about the history of our province and, in particular, the crucial contribution of the Acadians to the Island’s culture. In addition, this occasion offers an ideal opportunity to recognize the historical ties between the Mi’kmaq, who have lived on the Island for thousands of years, and the French and Acadians.

I therefore encourage everyone in Prince Edward Island to take advantage of this 300th anniversary to learn more about, and celebrate, the Acadian and French contribution to what is today the beautiful province of Prince Edward Island.

Lennie Gallant and Patricia Richard, Artists and proud Acadians - http://sireneetmatelot.com/

Message from cultural ambassadors of the Acadie 300 celebrations in PEI

We are very honoured to have been chosen as ambassadors of this celebration of the 300th anniversary of the arrival of the first French and Acadians in Abegweit, or Île Saint-Jean, as Prince Edward Island was formerly known.

Patricia: “For me, as an artist, it’s very important to be authentic in order to communicate effectively with people. I have had the honour of representing the Acadians of PEI in musical events including Ode à l’Acadie and Searching for Abegweit, where I talked about my language and culture with pride and sincerity from the bottom of my heart... and maybe also inspired by my Island ancestors.”

Lennie: “The Gallant family was one of the first European families to land on the Island in 1720, so my roots here run pretty deep. A few years ago, an archeological dig was carried out at the house of Michel Haché-Gallant at Port-la-Joye, and I got to stand in what was once his house and sing a song for him and his family, our ancestors.”

We’re confident that the spirit of these Acadian ancestors remains alive and well on the Island. It resonates in our pride and through the music, arts and culture of those living here today. We couldn’t be more pleased to take part in this year’s celebration, and we hope that people from all cultures will join us in singing and dancing in honour of those who came before us, everyone living here today and all the generations to come.

Social Media feed will go here.

We'll need an API token from each platform we want to use.

AMBASSADEURS

Son Honneur l’honorable Antoinette Perry, lieutenante-gouverneure de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard 

Message de l’ambassadrice protocolaire officielle des célébrations Acadie 300 Î.-P.-É.

À titre d’ambassadrice protocolaire du 300e anniversaire de l’établissement des Français et des Acadiens à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, je désire inviter tous les Insulaires à célébrer cet important événement de l’histoire de notre province. D’ailleurs, un très grand nombre de Prince-Édouardiens et de Prince-Édouardiennes, dont moi-même, descendent de ces braves pionniers.

Depuis les fêtes du Bicentenaire de Tignish, mon village natal, en 1999, j’ai participé à un grand nombre de fêtes et d’anniversaires de la communauté acadienne. Dans tous ces événements, j’ai célébré avec fierté la richesse de notre patrimoine acadien et français avec sa langue bien vivante et sa culture animée par des artistes et des animateurs dynamiques.

Ce tricentenaire nous donne l’occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire de notre province et tout particulièrement sur l’importante contribution des Acadiens à la culture insulaire. Cet anniversaire nous présente aussi une belle occasion de rappeler les liens historiques unissant les Mi’kmaq qui habitent l’Île depuis des milliers d’années, aux Français et aux Acadiens.

J’invite donc toute la population de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard à profiter de ce 300e anniversaire pour mieux découvrir et bien célébrer la contribution acadienne et française à ce qu’est devenu la belle province de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Lennie Gallant et Patricia Richard, Artistes et fiers Acadiens - http://sireneetmatelot.com/

Message des ambassadeurs culturels des célébrations Acadie 300 Î.-P.-É.

Nous sommes très honorés d’avoir été choisis comme ambassadeurs pour cette célébration du 300e anniversaire de l’arrivée des premiers Français et Acadiens à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, à Abegweit ou Île Saint-Jean, comme on l’appelait autrefois.

Patricia : « Pour moi comme artiste, il est très important d’être authentique afin de mieux communiquer avec le public. J’ai eu l’honneur de représenter les Acadiens de l’Î.-P.-É. dans des spectacles musicaux comme Ode à l’Acadie et Searching for Abegweit où j’ai parlé de ma langue et de ma culture avec fierté et sincérité du plus profond de moi-même…peut-être même inspirée de mes ancêtres insulaires. »

Lennie : « La famille Gallant était l’une des deux premières familles d’origine européenne à être arrivées sur cette île en 1720. Donc mes racines ici sont assez profondes. Il y a quelques années, une fouille archéologique a été faite dans la maison de Michel Haché-Gallant à Port-la-Joye et je me suis tenu debout dans ce qui était autrefois sa maison et j’ai chanté une chanson pour lui et sa famille, nos ancêtres. »

Nous avons l’impression que l’esprit de ces ancêtres Acadiens est encore présent sur l’Île. Il résonne dans notre fierté, à travers la musique, les arts et la culture de ceux qui vivent ici aujourd’hui. Nous sommes très heureux de participer à cette célébration cette année et nous espérons que les gens de toutes cultures se joindront à nous pour chanter et danser, dans l’esprit de ceux qui nous ont précédés, avec ceux qui sont ici maintenant, et ceux qui nous suivront.

Social Media feed will go here.

We'll need an API token from each platform we want to use.