Culture & Community

Photo courtesy of Deb O'Hanley

Prince Edward Island’s Acadian and Francophone community (AFC) is distributed across six geographic regions of the province: West Prince, Evangeline, Summerside-Miscouche, Rustico, Charlottetown and Eastern Kings. While the Evangeline region is today considered the Island’s largest Francophone region, it is important to note that each region has cultivated its own identity and faces specific issues. In cooperation with the regional committees in each of these six regions, the Société Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin (SSTA)—the voice of our community—ensures that the Island’s Acadian, Francophone and Francophile populations maintain day-to-day access to activities and services in French throughout the province.

Additionally, six committees serve at the regional level as “mini-SSTAs.” In this way, each region can be fairly represented in terms of its particular issues and needs. Each centre offers a wide range of activities, events and services in French in conjunction with the Island’s various Francophone organizations. These organizations are mandated to enable all Island Acadians and Francophones to live their entire lives in French from birth through old age. The school-community centres—made up of early years centres (EYCs), French-language schools and community facilities—actively support the community members in living and thriving in French.

Although many objectives have been achieved over the years, many other issues remain to be addressed in the interest of the ongoing development of the Island’s AFC, which has made great strides across many sectors and on many levels over the past 300 years. The AFC’s rapid and dynamic evolution is also, in a way, one of its major challenges; its transformation requires ongoing adaptation on the part of both the community and the above-mentioned organizations. The national debates surrounding the modernization of the Official Languages Act perfectly illustrate this need for adaptation and change within our communities.

Although Prince Edward Island’s AFC has been characterized by ongoing change, it also stands out for its members’ sense of engagement and solidarity. The new decade and the celebrations marking the 300th anniversary come at one of the richest and most eventful periods in the Island’s history from a cultural perspective. The Congrès mondial acadien (World Acadian Congress) in 2019 paved the way for the festivities to come. This once-in-a-lifetime event left all Islanders with feelings of collective joy and pride. Against this backdrop, the entire community is excited about embarking on the next chapter in its history as it looks forward to a promising future full of hope for the years to come.

Social Media feed will go here.

We'll need an API token from each platform we want to use.

Culture et communauté

Photo fournie par Deb O'Hanley

La communauté acadienne et francophone (CAF) de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard est géographiquement répartie dans la province en six régions : Prince-Ouest, Évangéline, Summerside-Miscouche, Rustico, Charlottetown et Kings-Est. Bien que la région Évangéline soit perçue aujourd’hui comme la plus grande région francophone de l’Île, il est bon de noter que chaque région cultive sa propre identité et fait face à des enjeux spécifiques. À l’aide de ses six comités régionaux présents dans chaque région, la Société Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin (SSTA) – organisme porte-parole de la communauté – s’assure, que les populations acadiennes, francophones et francophiles de l’Île ont accès quotidiennement à des activités et des services en français, dans toute la province.

De plus, six comités agissent en région comme des « mini SSTA ». Ainsi, chaque région peut être représentée équitablement selon ses enjeux et ses besoins. Chaque centre offre une gamme variée d’activités, d’événements et de services en français et ce, en partenariat avec les organismes francophones de l’Île. Leur mandat est de travailler pour que tous les Acadiens et Francophones insulaires puissent vivre toute leur vie en français, de la petite enfance à l’âge d’or. Les centres scolaires-communautaires – regroupant les centres de la petite enfance (CPE), les écoles de langue française et les salles communautaires – s’assurent d’accompagner les membres de la communauté afin qu’ils puissent vivre et s’épanouir en français.

Même si de nombreux objectifs ont été atteints au fil des années, bien des enjeux demeurent –  des enjeux essentiels au bon développement de la CAF qui, depuis 300 ans, progresse dans divers secteurs et plusieurs échelons. Elle devient une évolution si forte et puissante qu’elle devient également son principal vecteur de défi. Les transformations nécessitent une adaptation constante, aussi bien de la part de la communauté que des organismes. Les débats nationaux entourant la modernisation de la Loi sur les langues officielles, représentent parfaitement cette nécessité d’adaptation et de changement au sein de nos communautés.

Si la CAF de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard est marquée par une évolution constante, elle se distingue également par son engagement et sa solidarité. L’entrée dans cette nouvelle décennie, marquée par la célébration du 300e anniversaire, survient à une période des plus riches et des plus mouvementées de l’histoire de l’Île. Le Congrès Mondial Acadien de 2019 aura préparé le terrain pour les festivités à venir. Cet évènement inoubliable a laissé un climat de joie et de fierté collective chez les tous les insulaires. Dans cet esprit, l’ensemble du secteur communautaire tient à entamer un nouveau chapitre de l’histoire, en se projetant dans un avenir prometteur et plein d’espoir pour les années à venir.

Social Media feed will go here.

We'll need an API token from each platform we want to use.