Backgrounder

Celebrating 300 years

The year 2020 is the tricentennial of the founding of the colony of Île Saint-Jean by France. 

It’s the celebration of the 300th anniversary of the arrival of the first French and Acadians in Prince Edward Island. With them, these newcomers brought commercial farming and fishing. The year 2020 is therefore a twofold source of pride as we celebrate two milestones in the settlement of the territory. Many Islanders are direct descendants of these original settlers.

Why and what are we celebrating?

Celebrating this 300th anniversary provides an opportunity to acknowledge our origins and showcase the major contribution of the French and Acadians to what is today Prince Edward Island. We’re also celebrating the fact that 300 years later, French is still spoken on the Island!

The First Nations have been living on the Island for thousands of years. In this anniversary year, it is important to reaffirm these historical bonds of friendship between the Mi’kmaq and the French and Acadians.

The 300th anniversary consequently also provides a unique opportunity to recognize the impact of French rule (1720–1758) on the Island, notably from a toponymic perspective, since countless places still bear the names given to them by the French. 

It’s also an opportunity to highlight the fact that a great number of Islanders have Mi’kmaq, Acadian and French roots. Even if they no longer go by their names of old, how many MacDonalds, McNeills, Sheas, Maddixes, O’Briens, Fennesseys, McKinnons, McPhees, Stewarts, Camerons and many others simply have not yet delved far back enough into their genealogical roots?   

How to celebrate?

To mark this very special year, we’re celebrating our history and heritage by discovering—or rediscovering—landmarks that bring to life the stories of the French and Acadians before the Deportation. These include Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort-Amherst National Historic Site, which commemorates the first permanent European settlement on the Island.

We’re also showcasing their contributions across a broad range of areas and celebrating the vitality of the French and Acadian language. Let’s continue welcoming and expressing our pride to the French-speaking newcomers who will further enrich life on the Island for years to come!

Click Here pour plus de renseignements au sujet de nos activités et de notre programmation!

Social Media feed will go here.

We'll need an API token from each platform we want to use.

Historique

Un tricentenaire à célébrer

L’année 2020 marque le tricentenaire de la fondation de la colonie de l’Île Saint-Jean par la France. 

C’est la célébration du 300e anniversaire de l’arrivée des premiers Français et Acadiens à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Avec leur arrivée, débutent l’agriculture et la pêche commerciales. On peut donc dire que l’année 2020 marque doublement sa fierté en célébrant deux phases importantes de l’occupation du territoire. Plusieurs insulaires sont des descendants directs de cette lignée de premiers habitants.

Pourquoi et quoi célébrer ?

Célébrer ce 300e anniversaire nous donne l’occasion de fêter nos origines et souligner l’importante contribution des Français et des Acadiens à ce qu’est devenue la province de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Célébrons aussi le fait que la langue française se parle à l’Île, depuis trois siècles !

Les Premières Nations habitent l’Île depuis des milliers d’années. En cette année d’anniversaire rappelons-nous ces liens d’amitié historique qui unissaient les Mi’kmaq avec les Français et les Acadiens.

Le 300e anniversaire est donc une occasion unique de mettre en évidence l’empreinte qu’a laissé le régime français (1720-1758) sur l’Île, notamment du côté toponymique. Tant de lieux portent leurs noms. 

C’est aussi l’occasion de faire ressortir le fait qu’un très grand nombre d’Insulaires ont des racines micmaques, acadiennes et françaises. Même s’ils ne portent pas leurs patronymes, combien de MacDonald, McNeill, Shea, Maddix, O’Brien, Fennessey, McKinnon, McPhee, Stewart, Cameron et combien d’autres encore n’ont pas découvert la source de leurs racines généalogiques ?   

Comment célébrer ?

Dans le cadre de cette année spéciale, célébrons notre histoire et notre patrimoine en découvrant ou redécouvrant les établissements relatant la vie des Français et des Acadiens d’avant la Déportation. Visitons par exemple, Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort-Amherst, site historique national qui marque l’emplacement de la première colonie européenne.

Rappelons-nous leurs contributions, dans une grande variété de domaines et célébrons la vitalité de notre langue française et acadienne. Accueillons les nouveaux arrivants francophones qui viennent enrichir la vie à l’Île et transmettons-leur toute notre fierté!

Cliquez ici pour plus de renseignements au sujet de nos activités et de notre programmation!

Social Media feed will go here.

We'll need an API token from each platform we want to use.